Ray Manzarek passed away on May 20, 2013 after a long battle with bile duct cancer. He was the founding member of The Doors, after a chance meeting with Jim Morrison on Venice Beach in California. After Morrison sang some lines from “Moonlight Drive” to Manzarek, the beginning of The Doors was in full swing. The Doors became a pivotal rock band in the late 1960s, standing out from the usual hippie-themed music of the time. Death was a frequent theme in their songs. There was a darkness to their work that was unusual and unique at the time. “I was deeply saddened to hear about the passing of my friend and band mate Ray Manzarek today,” said Manzarek’s former band mate Robby Krieger. “I’m just glad to have been able to have played Doors songs with him for the last decade. Ray was a huge part of my life and I will always miss him.” “There was no keyboard player on the planet more appropriate to support Jim Morrison’s words,” former Doors drummer John Densmore wrote on his Twitter page following the news. “Ray, I felt totally in sync with you musically. It was like we were of one mind, holding down the foundation for Robby and Jim to float on top of. I will miss my musical brother.” Their hits include, “Break On Through (To The Other Side),” “Light My Fire,” “The End,” and “L.A. Woman.”

